The Dangers of Cutting and Pasting

I can remember a time when I was young(er) when I could only use the safety scissors and special non-toxic glue because I was told that cutting and pasting was dangerous.  How right my parents and grandparents were; to this day, I find that cutting and pasting are two of the most dangerous acts a modern American can perform, but only when related to Facebook.  Here’s my new target of fruitless frustration as posted in a friend’s status:

President Obama has decided that there will no longer be a “National Day of Prayer” held in May.”He doesn’t want to offend anybody.” Where was his concern about offending Christians last January when he allowed the Muslims to hold a day of prayer on the Capitol Grounds? As a Christain American “I AM OFFENDED”. If y…ou a…gree, copy and past no matter what religion you are, this country was built on FREEDOM!

Boy, the rest of the post just writes itself methinks.  Coming at this from a grammatical point of view, I can’t help but laugh when I see phrases like, “the Muslims”…as if they’re all grouped together in a corner of the room or something.  Do we really need quotes around the “I AM OFFENDED” part, and if so, who are we quoting???  How about “y…ou a…gree, copy and (wait for it) past”.  Oh yeah…not paste, but past.  Insert easy joke here.

Since we’ve brought up the past, though, let’s remember that this country wasn’t built just on FREEDOM but also on business; if you ever doubt that, please visit Jamestown in Virgina and get back to me.  Why Jamestown?  Um…because it was the first permanent settlement by the English under the auspices of the London Company.  Religious freedom caused some persons to travel across the ocean ala the Mayflower, but they weren’t the only ones, so let’s be sure we know what we’re talking about here, random copy and past(e)rs.

Now to the best part – the facts.  Much as I know people hate letting the facts get in the way of a good story, I can’t just let a juicy over-the-plate fastball like this go sliding by.  Anyone who has even glanced at the Constitution knows that there are three branches…so why exactly is it that the President can control who gets to do what on the Capitol Grounds?  Still with me on the three branches?  Then you’ll be pleased to know that it was a federal judge that ruled, not the President, and it was in relation to a lawsuit that was filed in Wisconsin. Also, from the White House (via Fox News no less): “But according to a Tweet by the White House on Thursday, “As he did last year, President Obama intends to recognize a National Day of Prayer.” This year that day is set for May 6.”

Just to complete the cycle of fun, when I posted this information to my friend’s status, the response from another person came back, “I think we just upset the democrat…Lol”.  Seriously?  I did my research, checked my facts…and that somehow shows my political affiliation?  The above information came from Fox News, but I’m a democrat because I refused to stand silent and let more crap slop over us?  The knee-jerk response from someone who lists her political affiliation as “Republican Party 4 sure” over a simple fact check is frankly worrisome, but unsurprising, given how speedy communication is in our modern era. It’s too easy to shoot off a response without thinking or digesting what the other person said, which is why I’m shocked at myself for getting this post up less than 60 minutes after being told that exposing the facts for what they were made me a democrat.

Sometimes I feel like Puck from Midsummer Night’s Dream, having to walk around and apologize to anyone who might be currently, in the future, or somewhere in the past offended by what I’ve said.  “Gentles, do not reprehend: if you pardon, we will mend.”

Feel free to copy and past(e) the above paragraph as necessary.  I think I’ll be doing the same for a while.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

