I’m sorry…*now* it’s okay to steal an election???

Dear MSNBC: your contradictions amuse me.  For example, “[Ed] SCHULTZ (23:02): I tell you what, if I lived in Massachusetts I’d try to vote 10 times. I don’t know if they’d let me or not, but I’d try to. Yeah, that’s right. I’d cheat to keep these b@stards out. I would. ‘Cause that’s exactly what they are.(1)”  Then comes Rachel Maddow with ,”It’s getting harder to tell where the fringe stops and the mainstream begins.”  Hello pot?  This is kettle.  You’re black.

Why do we all retreat to our entrenchments and defend the positions we already have?  Cause it’s easier than marching onto the field of battle and actually thinking our way through a problem.  The second someone pokes their head above their trench and tries to feel out to the other sides, they get shot at from all sides, making it far less likely that someone else will stick their heads out next time.  It’s safer in the trenches; why should we move?

The problem isn’t that we’ve become more hateful over the decades; it’s that we’ve allowed ourselves to to be manipulated by people who believe that hate is the best way to get things done.  Sex sells in commercials; hate sells in politics.  Trouble is, the more often we win in each category, the more we have to lose in the long run.

So back to the beginning.  Ed, I’ve heard you speak; you’re highly intelligent and fully capable of thinking problems through from one end to the other.  I’m therefore stunned that you’d stoop to speech that sounds so hateful instead of using the intellect you’ve worked so long and hard to craft.  Why you’d encourage people to cheat in an election is beyond my reasoning.  A thoughtful analysis of your statement can only conclude that you feel it’s okay to cheat as long as you get what you want, especially if you personally dislike the other side.

Shame on you.  Shame on those who would think of asking you to run for office.  Shame, shame, shame.

Rachel – please take note that at least one member and commentator of your own party is now advocating the theft of an election.  Is this the fringe, or is this the mainstream of your party?  Does Ed Schultz represent your views too?  Do you believe that cheating on an election is okay to do as long as you can justify it to yourself?  I anxiously wait for your repudiation of this terrifying idea.

Something tells me I’ll be waiting a long while.

(1) – http://washingtontimes.com/weblogs/watercooler/2010/jan/16/ed-schultz-id-cheat-keep-brown-winning/

This entry was posted in Generalized Discussions, Rants and Raves. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

